We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Bowers & Wilkins website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time.

10 Years of Society of Sound

Track credits

1. Jesca Hoop                                      When I’m Asleep
2. Little Axe Soul of a Man
3. Les Amazones d'Afrique Dombolo
4. Sidestepper Come See Us Play
5. Cara Dillon Bright Morning Star
6. Ben Taylor Broken
7. Loney dear Sum
8. The Anchoress You and Only You
9. Heaven 17 Captured
10. Peter Gabriel San Jacinto (Instrumental)
11. John Metcalfe Gold, Green
12. Bomba Estéreo El Alma Y El Cuerpo
13. The Apples Dragonz
14. Charlie Winston Where Can I Buy Happiness
15. Joseph Arthur Saint of Impossible Causes
16. Afro Celt Sound System Shadowman
17. Youssou N’Dour Immigres
18. Syriana Black Zil
19. Creole Choir of Cuba Fey Oh Di Nou
20. The Gloaming Casadh an tSúgáin
21. Bonus Track: Peter Gabriel In Your Eyes


Jesca Hoop - When I’m Asleep (from Society of Sound: 49)
Performed by Jesca Hoop and Blake Mills with contributions from Shawn Everett and Tony Berg
Produced by Shawn Everett, Blake Mills and Tony Berg
Recorded, Mixed and Mastered by Shawn Everett
2012 Jesca Hoop/Stage Three Music (US) Ltd; a BMG Chrysalis company/Curuja Songs

Little Axe - Soul of a Man (from Society of Sound: 1)
Recorded and mixed at Real World Studios, UK
Vocals Bernard Fowler, Skip McDonald, guitars Skip McDonald, bass Doug Wimbish, drums Keith Le Blanc, backing vocals Kevin Gibb, Saranella Bell, Madeleine Edgehill, Valerie Skeete, harmonica Alan Glen, brass by The Crispy Horns (Trumpet Dave Fullwood, Saxophone Richard Doswell, Trombone Chris Petter)
Produced by Adrian Sherwood & Skip McDonald 
2008 Real World Productions Ltd

Les Amazones d’Afrique - Dombolo (from Society of Sound: 116)
Lead vocals Angélique Kidjo, all instruments Liam Farrell aka Doctor L
Produced, arranged and mixed by Liam Farrell aka Doctor L
Recorded and mixed by Liam Farrell aka Doctor L at La Maison, Paris
2017 Real World Records Ltd

Sidestepper - Come See Us Play (from Society of Sound: 90)
Written, played and sung by Richard Blair, Eka Muñoz, Juan Carlos ‘Chongo’ Puello, Teto Ocampo, Edgardo ‘Guajiro’ Garcés
Produced, recorded and mixed by Richard Blair at San Miguel Studio in Bogotá, Colombia
2015 Real World Records Ltd

Cara Dillon - Bright Morning Star (from Society of Sound: 78)
Traditional arrangement by Cara Dillon and Sam Lakeman 
Produced and recorded by Sam Lakeman
Mixed by Mike “Spike” Drake and Sam Lakeman
2014 Soundwave Music 3 Ltd

Ben Taylor - Broken (from Society of Sound: 98)
Recorded at Rak Studios, UK Produced by Kevin Bacon Written by Ben Taylor
Guitar and vocals Ben Taylor, additional vocals Sophie Hiller, percussion/drums Mark Pusey, piano Jonathan Quarmby
2016 Ben Taylor

Loney dear – Sum (from Society of Sound: 112)
Recorded at Loney dear mobile studios, scattered over various locations in Sweden
Written, arranged, played, produced and mixed by Loney dear 
Backing shouts by Joel Humlén, backing vocals by Jennie Abrahamsson
2017 Real World Records Ltd 

The Anchoress - You And Only You (from Society of Sound: 91)
Recorded at Sofa Sound, Kitchen Studios and Catherine’s front room, UK
All vocals and all other instruments by Paul Draper & Catherine Anne Davies
Produced by Paul Draper and Catherine Anne Davies
Written by Catherine Anne Davies
String arrangement by Gillian Wood
Mixed by Cenzo Townshend and Paul “PDub” Walton
(p) 2015 copyright control

Heaven 17 – Captured (from Society of Sound: 105)
Produced and recorded by Martyn Ware and Glenn Gregory at House Of Illustrious Studios, UK
Composed and published by Glenn Gregory and Martyn Ware
Gregory/Ware. All rights reserved

Peter Gabriel - San Jacinto (Instrumental) (from Society of Sound: 41)
Recorded at Air Lyndhurst, Real World Studios & Ladbroke Temple, UK
Written by Peter Gabriel
Produced by Peter Gabriel with John Metcalfe
Arranged by John Metcalfe with Peter Gabriel
Performed with the New Blood Orchestra
2011 Peter Gabriel Ltd

John Metcalfe - Gold, Green (from Society of Sound: 84)
Recorded at The Bus Stop, Real World Studios and Eastcote Studio, UK
All music written, arranged, performed, mixed and produced by John Metcalfe
2015 Real World Productions Ltd

Bomba Estéreo - El Alma y El Cuerpo (from Society of Sound: 76)
Written by Julian Salazar & Li Saumet
Produced by Felipe Alvarez
Mixed by Joel Hamilton
2012 Rights’Up

The Apples – Dragonz (from Society of Sound: 106)
Trumpet Arthur Krasnobaev, trombone Yaron Ouzana, tenor & soprano saxophones Oleg Nalman, baritone saxophone, flute and guitar Yakir Sasson, turntables Erez Todres, turntables and synth Markey Funk, double bass Elad Muskatel, drums Yonadav Halevy, Sound console, tapes, effects Uri “Mixmonster” Werthelm
Produced by Yobadav Halevy
Mixed by Uri Wertheim
2017 The Apples

Charlie Winston - Where Can I Buy Happiness (from Society of Sound: 44)
Music and lyrics by Charlie Winston
Produced by Tony Berg
Recorded at Zeitgeist Studio and Berkeley St. Studio, Los Angeles and Studio La Frette, Paris.
Mixed at Studio La Frette, Paris.
℗ 2011 Real World Records Limited under license to Atmospheriques/Because Music /Universal Music Canada Inc.

Joseph Arthur  - Saint of Impossible Causes (from Society of Sound: 61)
All songs written by Joseph Arthur
Mixed by Joseph Arthur at Rebel Country, Brooklyn, NY and the Carriage House, Silverlake, CA and Neal Avron at Gnome Gardens, LA. 
2013 Real World Productions Ltd/Lonely Astronauts

Afro Celt Sound System - Shadowman (from Society of Sound: 25)
Recorded at Redchurch Recordings & Rollover, UK
Written by Simon Emmerson, James McNally, Iarla O'Lionaird, Martin Russell and N’Faly Kouyate
Produced by Simon Emmerson, James McNally, Martin Russell additional production by Iarla O'Lionaird and Mass
2010 Real World Recordings Ltd

Youssou N’Dour – Immigres (from Society of Sound: 88)
Lead vocals Youssou N’Dour, background vocals Ousseynou Ndiaye, drums Falilou Niang Galass, Percussion Babacar Mbaye Dieye Faye, talking drum Assane Thiam, saxophone Thierno Koite, lead guitar Mamadou 'Jimi' Mbaye, rhythm guitar Pape Oumar Ngom, bass guitar, keyboards Habib Faye
Immigrés written by Youssou N’Dour 
2013 Peter Gabriel Ltd/Real World Productions Ltd

Syriana - Black Zil (from Society of Sound: 17)
Recorded at Music Box International, Syria, The House of Yussef Chhadeh, Syria, Intimate Studios, UK. Mixed at Real World Studios, UK
Written and arranged by Abdullah Chhadeh, Bernard O`Neill, Dubulah
2009 Real World Productions Ltd

The Creole Choir of Cuba - Fey Oh Di Nou (from Society of Sound: 19)
Recorded and mixed at Real World Studios, UK
The Creole Choir of Cuba are Rogelio Torriente, Fidel Miranda, Teresita Miranda, Marcelo Luis, Dalio Vital, Emilia Diaz Chavez, Yordanka Fajardo, Irian Montejo, Marina Fernandes, Yara Diaz
Produced by John Metcalfe
2012 Real World Productions Ltd

The Gloaming - Casadh an tSúgáin (from Society of Sound: 93)
Vocals Iarla Ó Lionáird, hardanger d’amore Caoimhín Ó Raghallaigh, guitar Dennis Cahill, fiddle Martin Hayes, piano Thomas Bartlett
Recorded at Real World Studios, UK
Produced by Thomas Bartlett 
2016 Real World Productions Ltd

Bonus Track: Peter Gabriel - In Your Eyes 
All tracks recorded and mixed at Real World Studios, UK
All songs written by Peter Gabriel 
Produced by Daniel Lanois and Peter Gabriel
2012 Peter Gabriel Ltd

This Compilation 2018 Bowers & Wilkins / Real World Records 

Copyright © 2018 Bowers & Wilkins. All rights reserved.